RSS

Honking = faster moving traffic ?

03 Jun

Monday the first day of the week,  beginning of the new week. I wonder how people get Monday blues…may be the day I’ll experience it I’ll know….But I am so damn pepped and fresh on a Monday morning after the weekend….It feels great to come to office and get back to the hectic mode….I mean one reason I love my job and am on a growth and learning spree.

Well since I live far from my office and travel by bus, have to go through the torment of the heavy traffic in the city especially on a Monday morning. According to me reasons for horrendous traffic on Monday morning could be due to the following reasons:

  • People returning from back to their respective homes after a weekend
  • People going early to the office than the weekdays
  • A heavy downpour on Sunday night
  • Many vehicles on the road after the weekend so difficult to manage the traffic

Brigade Road, Bangalore

image007

Well since I use public transport, I often get to see the traffic and its behaviour. Everyone is in a hurry. Of course why not? Everyone has to reach office, school, college etc on time. Who the hell wants to face the brunt of the pollution and who on earth has the time n patience to wait till the vehicle ahead or besides you move ahead….If the signal is red and there is a vehicle ahead of yours how on earth can honking make it move faster I simply fail to understand.  This is especially the case with the state transport buses and the auto rickshaw drivers….They can kill you by honking non-stop…But then we can’t do much about it because they will just not pay heed to what you are saying!

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

13 responses to “Honking = faster moving traffic ?

  1. eye-in-sty-in

    June 4, 2009 at 12:01 am

    Didnt you know? The sound waves emitted from the horns make the vehicle in front of you propel faster! 😛

     
  2. sujith

    June 5, 2009 at 3:58 am

    WElcome to the hassle and bustle of.. traffic !

    I think..Better traffic management and.. first of all…
    better traffic discipline..on each ones part will help…
    u follow the rules.. and the rest will follow……

    keeping my fingers crossed anyways…!

     
  3. Valerine

    June 5, 2009 at 4:35 am

    Ya rite EISI…thank you so much for the insight……..M so honored!

     
  4. Valerine

    June 5, 2009 at 4:37 am

    Hey Sujith I think B’lore people are pretty much disciplined wghne it comes to traffic rules….but then so many vehicles n the metro cuming up cant really do much abt it!

     
  5. EISI

    June 5, 2009 at 5:28 am

    you are welcome…. If you ever need any such insights, now you know where to go 😛

     
  6. EISI

    June 5, 2009 at 5:29 am

    ha ha ha @ ur comment to Sujith. Obviously you have not experienced bombay traffic. MOST disciplined in India!

     
  7. Valerine

    June 5, 2009 at 6:17 am

    EISI I have experienced Bombay traffic and the most unruly people without any traffic sense!

     
  8. EISI

    June 5, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    lol…. you must be drunk – you were in bangalore at that time 😛
    I have bombay friends in bangalore who have told me enough stories abt the traffic there… Some I have experienced myself.

     
  9. Valerine

    June 8, 2009 at 8:32 am

    Well EISI…I was not at all drunk….BTW I guess u r jst ‘J’ that u r not in a beautiful city lyk B’lore…

     
  10. Samkit

    June 9, 2009 at 12:11 am

    Traffic sucks only during holidays or on vacation trips … Other than that, I don’t mind traffic if that means spending less time in the office lol 😉 … Nevertheless for me, I travel opposite to the traffic and I pity people on the other side of the freeway when their cars are just bumper-to-bumper 😉 … But yes, I do have the comfort of not listening to the irritating honks of the horns as we come across back in India … But to tell you the truth I really really miss those sounds here in the US 😦 …

     
  11. Spike

    June 9, 2009 at 12:59 am

    to b J of a city, u need 2 b in a worse city… I’m not…. so no J 4 me 😛

     
  12. Valerine

    June 9, 2009 at 4:13 am

    Well Samkit m sure u must have come across some or the other kinda situation which would remind you of India…But then nothin lyk being in India and experiencing it ..rite 🙂

     

Leave a comment