RSS

The ” Miss Critique”

19 May

I never fall short of topics for my blog and love the fact that my mind is vigilant enough to think for itself. Gone are my teenage days when peers could influence me(which thankfully never happened in my case), someone’s opinion accepted by the society was the law, or some stubborn elders wanted to stick to the traditional things even if they were not reasonable. I have my opinions (highly opinionated that I am :D), my thoughts and rationale, which are duly owned and nurtured by me. Why should I go by what someone else says or thinks about people, circumstances, celebrations, calamities, fashion, movies, couture, politicians, artists, brands, government and everything under the roof of the universe?

Well here I am talking about as Wikipedia says it – “one of India’s top best-selling authors”, the one and only Shobha De. Too many adjectives out there isn’t it? I am definitely not a fan of her or what she writes in various newspapers and magazines. She suffers from what I would call, Heightened cynicism, sheer insecurity, idiosyncratic thoughts, peripatetic life. Well this dame does have the gift of the gab which she very ungraciously uses as a weapon to attack people who are either successful, or who are treading the path of success.Β  If someone has ever read even a single article authored by her, they would second me on this- she just writes negative aspects of things. If everyone raves about someone or like I mentioned earlier in my post, fashion, movies, artists etc she has to rip them apart. I mean who on hell does she think she is to impose her opinions which of course is subject to people’s discretion whether they accept it or not! One can be opinionated about things, but the overtly intelligent woman that she is, she would reflect on behalf of others as well. God this woman is the perfect example of “epitome of cynicism”. Just a few days back I was reading The Week magazine, where she happens to unfortunately be the guest author, I came across an article written by Miss critique on the Royal wedding. Well I am sure the high profile life that she leads, she was ticked off by the fact she was not invited to witness the exchange of wows by William & Kate. The article was a piece of trash where in one of the paragraphs she talks about Kate acknowledging the fact she is not a virgin and stuff. I mean wasn’t there more to the wedding? Of course it is going to be a big affair. Here we are talking about a Royal wedding which doesn’t take place every year. Even if it is hyped so what? Media blows everything out of proportion these days and that is no news to people! So what if her books are best sellers in India? Of course it will be a hit, if there is sex, gossip and crazy stuff in there.Don’t we all know that Mills and Boons is a super hit book with teenagers.

Couple of months back I was at a book launch cum review of a book called “Leading Ladies” by Sudha Menon and I was so glad to read the book where she actually traveled to various parts of the country to meet these highly respected woman who have achieved great milestones despite the crisis & hindrances they had to face to be where they are today.

Just because you have the money (of course marrying a rich businessman who had all the money in the world at his disposal) to wear layers of make-up and pick the most expensive jewellery and sarees doesn’t make you a woman of substance! You got to be woman like Kiran Bedi, Kiran Majumdar Shaw, P.T Usha and many others to be in the league where they are today. I am sure thousands of girls like me will be glad even if they achieved 5% of what these women have done and be able to do something for the country.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2011 in Author, Books

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “The ” Miss Critique”

  1. Khanum

    May 21, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    I like the way you write. Bombardments !!! I haven’t read the writer u mentioned in the beginning of your post but I have to agree on your point . I dont understand how come people spreading negative thoughts and taunting others can become top class of the world? that’s not journalism! I am a journalist myslf and I highly recommend positive musings. There are many ways to point out the bads of the society. One doesn’t have to be insulting and show off!!! and say.. Look I know everything I am a writer :s

     
  2. Valerine

    May 23, 2011 at 6:15 am

    Hey Khanum thank you so much …I am not much of a critical writer, but this one, I just could not resist πŸ˜€ BTW love your new photography blog πŸ™‚ and so did my colleagues in office did πŸ™‚

     
  3. Delirium

    May 30, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    I really appreciate what you are i.e highly opinionated and even more the way you express your thoughts seemlessly.

    As regards Shobha Dilip, I occassionally happen to read her columns published in Pakistani newspapers. Read one of her books that was on marriage and I liked the way she wrote and made her point.

    I dunno much about the rest of her thoughts and opinions so cant really comment.

    Very eloquent post yet again!

     
  4. Valerine

    May 31, 2011 at 9:18 am

    Hey Delirium…thanks πŸ™‚ But me and reading a Shobha De book…not possible!….
    But keep dropping by πŸ™‚

     
  5. mahlaqa

    May 31, 2011 at 10:36 am

    hey there Val
    well havent read shbha De though seen her quite a few times.. isnt she successful herself πŸ˜‰ this is a modern day paradox that the ones who catch the media hype n glitz and enjoy their hrs of fame are filthy rich ppl mostly not by hard slog but by being cheeky.. and then they r there criticizing the rest in their own likeness and talking abt the less fortunate.. although they dont know the first thing abt being unfortunate. this is how our media ppl n politicians are here as well.
    very well written.

     
  6. Valerine

    May 31, 2011 at 10:40 am

    Wow I have likes of mine joining the band wagon of not liking Shoba De…. Thanks for sharing your thoughts πŸ™‚

     
  7. mahlaqa

    May 31, 2011 at 10:50 am

    yeah Shobha De n the like of her πŸ™‚

     
  8. mahlaqa

    May 31, 2011 at 10:50 am

    *likes* hate typos :/

     
  9. Valerine

    May 31, 2011 at 10:54 am

    @ Mahlaqa πŸ˜€

     
  10. Sarah Batool

    June 8, 2011 at 8:17 am

    totally agree with you,,,neither from her interviews nor from her writings she seem to be one of the best selling authors,,,even I don’t like her,,,n true that she is always cynical but I guess that’s what makes her the best selling author,,people around us have developed the habit to find a fault in things or people around ;),,v have forgotten how to appreciate,,,
    anyways liked your blog πŸ™‚

     
  11. Valerine

    June 9, 2011 at 6:23 am

    Thank u Sarah πŸ˜€

     

Leave a Reply

 
