RSS

yeT tO awakE!!!!

05 May

Do I believe in conspiracy theories? I am not too sure. Too much of information out there on google which I and many of us feed on. What to believe and what not to depends on individual. I wish there was a system in our brains which could filter the information that it receives and then let it consume. Well too much to ask from the MAKER, isn’t it?

But then like the saying goes, “curiosity kills the cat” , (again here I am not too sure why has the person targeted cat, but whatever!), curiosity has been one of my many garments and I am too resistant to let go off it.  I have a question mark all the time, not that of confusion, but the very scary and demanding word as I like to put it “WHY”. I have to have a logical reason for everything, whether it is about my career, food, shopping, venturing out or anything for that matter. But then for sometime now (4-5 years) I have put a full stop to one question that keeps popping up all the time- Why do we pay or receive bribe for every little thing? If I have to get my a driver’s license done, I need to pay to an agent to get it done quickly, if I have to get my passport done, pay the agent and then the corp, if I need admission in a good college, need to pay heavy donations despite scoring great! I read somewhere that India happens to be the third most corrupt country in the world. Sigh!

I guess corruption is in our blood, we are born with it in our DNA. But then on the other hand, people are starting to realize the impending effects of it and are  beginning to agitate. For instance, Jessica Lal case, where people stood against injustice and the more recent Anna Hazare‘s fast unto death for the Lokpal Bill which had been lying in the parliament with the bureaucrats for over 42 years.

Its not someone else’s responsibility to fight for our rights and injustice, it is high time we should realize our moral values that define what we are to a great extent. The mask that we wear all the time should be taken off, if we want to see a corrupt free country. Like it is said, “every drop in the ocean matters”, similarly if each one of us start somewhere, instead of blaming the politicians, the government and others, we can surely make a difference in the coming years.

After 63 years of freedom our country is still in fetters!

Here I would like to quote a line from Rabindranath Tagore‘s peom- “Into that Heaven of Freedom my Father, let my country awake!”

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “yeT tO awakE!!!!

  1. Ras Alonso

    May 5, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    What I do believe is that not everything that is main stream is correct or absolute. History shows us that its the out of the norm thinking that has propel mankinds development. Many things are not fully understand or explained one big example is the UFO sightings or weird sky phenomena, I have seen it on the news and other legitimate program and no real explanation has been put forward. What about history of ancient civilization most of what we know is what was written by the invaders from there perspective so I am sure that many parts of history is incorrect. So I am no conspiracy theorist but there are things out there that the governments and scientist do not want us to know and thats a fact. Great post love it.

     
  2. Delirium

    May 7, 2011 at 6:53 am

    “I guess corruption is in our blood, we are born with it in our DNA.” To that bit I agree. As the history and evolution of mankind suggests that we are born with two deeply interwined and inseperable threads/streaks of ‘good” & “evil”. Which one of the two dominates at certain point in time is dictated by “personality” & “situational constraints”. The cause of rampant corruption & injustice are situational factors dictating the norm.

    Once we realize, wake up and react to such menances things have a potential to change. Case in point China. That was known to be a most corrupt nation. But the fortunes of the nation have changed dramatically after 2nd world war as it has realized its potential and propelled by the right leadership.

     
  3. Valerine

    May 7, 2011 at 7:11 am

    Hey thanks Alonso 🙂

    @ Delirium …..I just hope everyone realises and contributes to the change we want to see 🙂

     
  4. Shivya

    May 7, 2011 at 11:59 am

    An issue that each Indian fights with every day. Time for you to pay a visit to http://www.ipaidabribe.com, an inspiring initiative to stand together in that fight.

     
  5. Valerine

    May 9, 2011 at 7:16 am

    Thanks Shivya :)Will surely go through that website 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
