RSS

Togetherness….

03 Sep

Relationship, universally is one of the most beautiful part of our lives.  We are born because of one, we live in one, we grown in them and we make different relationships all through our lives.

Amongst the many relationships we make, relationship after marriage is the most beautiful, weird, surprising, crazy amazing and yes definitely full of discoveries. Even if you have known and dated the person for years before you get married, it still leads to discovering each other with every passing day.

Marriage definitely gave me jitters till the time I met that someone special who I could relate to, love and spend rest of my life with. Deciding and finalizing on the D-day, there are a few formalities that are required by the church for a couple to get married. Amongst the many others, there is something called the marriage preparation course which is compulsory. So out of compulsion, my fiance and I attended the course. But after attending the course, my views about that 3-day course plus marriage has completely changed, for better 🙂

Like I mentioned earlier, marriage is full of discoveries. Discovering about the likes and dislikes, passions, emotions, weakness and strength of each other. I remember the day I decided to get married to the love of my life and introduced him to someone who is like an elder brother to me, he said, “Guys remember one thing, marriage  is not about matching each other’s wavelength, but it is about being together and riding on each other’s wavelength. How true is that….

The first question I was asked in the session was, “how many times has he made you cry?” It was not to put my fiance to shame or embarrassment, but it was about what are young couples looking or expecting from their marriage. One of the faculty said this and I really loved it, ” Wedding is about the day you guys say ‘I Do’ to each other, but marriage is about saying “I DO” to each other for the rest of your lives”.  I honestly had jitters about marriage. Knowing myself really well, or at least believing that I know myself really well, I am a typical 21st century girl, who believes in being independent, has her opinions, takes decision without any qualms, knows her rights really well and will not take any s**t from anyone. But marriage is not about the kind of qualities each one possesses, but I guess its about how to match and understand these qualities. While we make many new relationships, it is definitely not going to be a very great experience, because there are going to be expectations, assumptions, presumptions etc which of course most of us hate, it is also going to be a lot of surprises, fun and unique aspects of relationships, which are bound to add to the experience and life ahead.

I feel the institution of marriage is amazing, though many of my friends would disagree. Many think it is a compromise, but honestly I think, when you think it is a compromise, you will not be able to sustain it for a long time as someday it is bound to take a toll on your relationship. Two different people coming together will surely have differences, but it is very important to know at the end of the day, what matters the most is the “Togetherness” that you guys are going to share throughout your lives, for better or for worse.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2010 in couple, marriage, Relationships, Wedding

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Togetherness….

  1. kateshrewsday

    September 3, 2010 at 6:50 am

    Thanks for this lovely, though-provoking post. I’ve been married 18 years, and I continue to be surprised, delighted, hurt and outraged by the other half of me. When I met him life turned from monotone to colour. It has never changed back.
    Marriage was not even a choice for me, but a natural progression. The man is a one-off, and life is never, never dull.

     
  2. Valerine

    September 24, 2010 at 6:46 am

    Thank you Kate for dropping by………And thank you so much for your comment…Hope to see you more often 🙂

     
  3. Urvashi

    November 24, 2010 at 10:40 am

    an amazing insight into relationships…hope this helps me out in mine!!!

     
  4. Valerine

    November 24, 2010 at 10:55 am

    Hey Thanks Urvashi 🙂 All the best 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
