RSS

So Cliched!

05 Aug

Was browsing throug the paper which is the first thing I do when I enter the office after switching on my system and there is 1 headline amongst the others that caught my attention, “143 TV channels want to enter Indian market”. And I was like wow, aren’t the 100 odd channels enough to entertain, inform, irritate, hook the audience, grab attention, and of course the so very famous “the breaking news” coined by all the news channels where even a monkey entering someone’s kitchen can be a breaking news..God alone knows what breaks whom, where and how, when the news is broken on the channel!

According to the news, media industry is seeking permission from the Information and broadcasting ministry to up link 143 new channels. I can only wonder as to what can those channels present to the audience. Agreed from a saas bahu series to Rakhi Sawant ka swayamwar, everything is accepted and gains popularity and rises to fame at least when it kick starts, but then it so cliched! I haven’t been watching television for the past 7 years now, from the time I stepped out of home and even if I have to pass my timeΒ  I would rather watch some music channel or a movie channel which is so much more entertaining and refreshing. But I guess most of us hardly have the time & patience to sit through the shows or the inclination to watch the stupid melodramatic shows which has no head or tail!

All I can say is it is so so very cliched!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2009 in media, news channels, series

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “So Cliched!

  1. Varun

    August 5, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    I read this news too. Not sure who’ll watch those additional channels when we have no time to watch the channels that are being telecast already.

     
  2. Spike

    August 5, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    they all want a piece of the ad pie. india is growing and there is money here. thats why there are many channels wanting to be a part of the media. Content?? who cares abt thaat!

    PS: even i dont watch tv. its a waste i think!

     
  3. Ava

    August 6, 2009 at 2:07 am

    Yeh.. as if they will do anything pathbreaking.

     
  4. Valerine

    August 6, 2009 at 6:49 am

    Well Varun so true who has the time to watch the idiot box anyway!

    @SPikie – Ya it is such a waste of time, would rather prefer using the internet and enhancing my knowledge πŸ™‚

    Yeah Ava, gone are the days when the news channels were credible, now we cut throat competition its just the TRP ratings that matters the most.

     
  5. Chiranjib

    August 8, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    Keep them coming !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    I am waiting for the day when a news channel will broadcast me having a shave ! πŸ˜€

     
  6. Valerine

    August 10, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    hahahhaahahh…..Chiranjib Good one πŸ™‚

     
  7. arshia

    August 11, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    Nice Blog. Congrats.
    { Treasurer-T & S }

     
  8. Valerine

    August 12, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Tx Arshia…welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
