RSS

1 year as a PR Professional……

04 Feb

Wow……I completed a year on the 14th of January 2009 as a PR Professional in my organization (Hanmer MS&L)….It was a great year………With scary, weird, senseless, great clients, it has been a amazing year with a lot of exposure, learning and of course honing my skills with every passing day…I think the best achievement that I made apart from all the great work I’ve done for my clients, is that I got promoted the very next month after completing my 6 months of probation……..Of course I am happy and think its an achievement, this being my first job……….

First 3 months were really crazy and I was just thrown amidst loads of work with no idea how to execute each task assigned…Of course all thanks to my immediate senior who helped me understand the nitty-gritty of the PR industry and how to service the clients……But the 5th month of my job took a 360 degree turn and today I am performing better that people who have spend like 3-4 years in this industry……Yeah it may sound like I am boasting about myself, but very seldom do we get a chance do that…Don’t we? From basic executable of sending the updates to the client, I have now risen up to working on planning and strategizing as to take my client’s brand ahead……Gives me a real great feel & a kick every day to come to work and discover that I am just not doing the monotonous stuff………I get this satisfaction when I see my boss just blindly trusting me and not interfering with my decision on the clients I handle…..Amongst the various clients that I handle, the only client I hate to work with is Discovery channel….Though the client is based out of Delhi, I take care of all the activities in Bangalore. Initially when I was assigned to work for Discovery, I was so happy because it is a big brand top work with and of course an experience that would help me grow….Yes all of that did happen , but the unwanted pressure that is created on the people working for Discovery channel is damn irritating and is insane……But yes at the end of the day it is my client, so have to perform……

Apart from work, my office is really full of lively, fun loving and great people, which makes the work atmosphere really splendid…..And of course few of my work buddies are Rock music fans, which makes it all the more fun while we play the music and work……

Well this journey has so far been great and I hope it continues to be the same!

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “1 year as a PR Professional……

  1. Smita

    February 4, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Congrats πŸ™‚ Looks like u had a great time…Is this ur first job? Somehow we are always in love with the 1st job and the colleagues there πŸ™‚

    Amen! to ur wish πŸ™‚

     
  2. Valerine

    February 4, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Hey Thanks Smita….Yeah dis is ma first job…….Nd yeah m having a g8 time…….. πŸ™‚

     
  3. Eye-in-sty-in

    February 5, 2009 at 4:32 am

    Hi Val, Congrats! When you love your work – you dont work at all :-))

    (Err.. Some free advise – I would remove the names of the Company and clients from the blog)

     
  4. Valerine

    February 5, 2009 at 5:30 am

    Well I love my work and I do work…..And hey thanks for the advise…will keep that in mind…. πŸ™‚

     
  5. Samy

    February 5, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Hey Valerine … Congrats on your first anniversary !!! I know how great it feels after reaching that milestone … All the best for the future and may God protect you from such irritating clients lol πŸ™‚

    Cheers

     
  6. Valerine

    February 6, 2009 at 5:06 am

    Hey Samkit….Thank you sooooo mcuh……feels really g8 2 see this kinda of encouraging comment…. πŸ™‚

     
  7. Varun

    February 23, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Congratulations and Celebrations!! How did you celebrate the first year anniversary!!? First job is always great.. I hope it lasts as long as you want it to last…

     

Leave a Reply

 
