RSS

Transition!!!!!!!

23 Oct

14th January ’08, will always be a very memorable day in my life….. I entered the big corporate world, yes my first step in being a Professional PR (Public Relations)…….Well I was very anxious,  excited and curious to know 3 things (out of the many things i wanted to know at a go!)……1) Which verticle am I going to be working in…..2) Which clients will I be working for …….3) And is my immediate reporting boss going to be a guy or a girl…………The first day I reached office at around 8.30 which was like 1 hour before the reporting time…….Got introduced to my would-be colleagues one by one excpet for the branch head who was suppose to give me my offer letter and of course decide as to which team am I going to join and induct me as well …..Well all that happend later in the day…….So my first day was pretty cool……….I was happy that my colleagues were very sweet and supportive………Well I was very apprehensive about my immediate senior………but to my good luck he turned out to be a chilled out and a very level headed guy(with of course no hair on his head)…….

Then of course with each passing day I got introduced to the various clients out team was handling, the day to day activities…the so called ‘executables’ and of course my role in the team……It was very interesting and exciting because I chose to service the IT verticle (With zero IT background)……In the initial few months when I was taken for my client meetings, I would just listen to the conversation and try to take down every word spoeken by the client, of course for the reason that I had to prepare the minutes of the meeting…..but apart from listening to what the client is speaking, nothing would sink in my head……..I would just wonder about all the press releases planned, the communication strategy and the way forward etc……..

This was the work part of it…….But apart from work, the office was so lively( & even now it is)..People  play music and are very cool…….I made freinds and statred  chatting with almost everyboday…….talkative as I am…….But there was this one guy who would just smile …do his work and not talk much…I mean not that he would chuk attitude or was a introvert…but would concentrate on his work and just exchange greetings with everyone…….And one fine day I just went upto him as I had a query which he resolved………Then one  day I discovered his home was a few kms away from mine…..I requested him if he could drop me and of course ….the gentleman he is…he dropped me…..Well that was it….I was talking and talking from the time we started from the office till he dropped me to my PG(Paying guest)……….And he was sweet enough to respond to my nonsensical questions……..That was just the begining of a great friendship……..Well that day on I started developing this comfort factor with him……….I would go upto to him for my silliest queries and he would amiably resolve or at least show me the way forward…….

I had just entered the corporate world and was not aware of the nuances……..There were times where I would’nt behave mature enough, or act dumb in a given situation or may be would just overreact on certain issues………Well this was the time I needed sumone to criticize me and teach me a few fundas of the PR industry………Yes of course I had my seniors to guide and support me but I needed more than that, and here is where my sweet friend came into picture……There were times when he would explain me things in a sarcastic way and sumtimes he would gently make me understand about various issues and the ways to deal with them….I have completed nine months in this industry and today I believe I am performing very well and of course progressing professionally……….Huge credit goes to my best friend who helped me in this phase of mine where in froma student just passed out of college to being a PR Profeesional, I have become a performer…..Yes my transition was made  smooth and lucid to a great extent I owe this to my friend who  has moved on in life and is doing very well for himself………..Although I miss his being around in the office, he is just a call away from me….

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 23, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
